The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger: Book v. Movie

About six months ago I picked up a used copy of this book at a library sale. 

 When I first started reading it, I found it hard to follow. I couldn’t understand how Henry could be five and thirty-five at the same time or how he could visit himself. It was all a bit too fantastical for me.

However, it didn’t take long for me to get swept up in the love story between Henry and Claire. I loved their relationship, their passion for one another. I would stay up late into the night unable to abandon the two of them. During the day my thoughts would drift to Henry and Claire, the novel drawing me like a magnet. I was mesmerized by the story. It truly was the most romantic book I’ve ever read.

Last Friday night a group of my girlfriends and I went to see the movie. I didn’t have high expectations going into it.  The truth is that the movie is never as good as the book. Plus the last movie I went to see was “My Sister’s Keeper,” which was completey frustrating after having read the amazing book.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie. Rachel McAdams did a great job as Claire, and Eric Bana’s backside did not dissapoint.

 That being said there were huge chunks of the book that were taken out which I felt were important to understanding the story. I know that it is necessary to take out parts of the book because no one wants to sit through a ten hour movie, but I felt like if I hadn’t read the book I never would’ve gotten it. I think I would’ve wondered why Claire loved Henry so much, or for that matter, why Henry loved her. In the book it was very clear. I never questioned their love for one another or why they had it. Most of the formative scenes in their relationship were not included in the movie and to me that was a shame. 

But the biggest dissapointment for me was the ending. In the novel the last page was my favorite. Sometimes, even now, I pick the book off my shelf, flip to the last page and read the romantic scene. For those of you who haven’t read the book – you need to. For those of you who have – you know what I’m talking about. I wish they had included this scene in the movie.

Bottom line, I would recommend the movie but only AFTER you’ve read the book.

Leave a Reply

