Handle with Care, by Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors. I’ve read all of her books and enjoyed each and every one of them…some more than others. If I was to recommend one strongly to you it would be “Nineteen Minutes.” My next five favorites are: “Salem Falls,” “Picture Perfect,” “Plain Truth,” “The Pact,” and “Harvesting the Heart.”

As with all her novels, “Handle with Care,” dealt with a moral issue. Willow was born with a disease called Osteogenesis Imperfecta where her bones break very easily.  Since she is severely handicapped and has to be constantly monitored because she could break her bones just from sneezing or bumping up against something, her family is financially strapped. Because of this Willow’s mom, Charlotte, decides to sue her OB (also her best friend) in a wrongful birth suit, as a way of giving her daughter a chance at a better life. 

While I won’t add “Handle with Care” to my list of all time favorite Jodi Picoult books, it certainly didn’t dissapoint. As with all her books I found it compulsively readable. Her writing was crisp and lively, and kept me turning the page, desperate to know what would happen next.

Her characters were complex and well-developed. My only criticism regarding this was that I really didn’t like any of them. I didn’t like the mom, Charlotte, at all. She reminded me so much of the mom in “My Sister’s Keeper.” The problem was that I also wasn’t sure that I liked the dad, Sean, either or the best friend, Piper. Amelia, the older sister, was probably the character I had the most empathy for, yet at times I found her exhausting.

Overall, though, it was a good read. Jodi Picoult is an exceptional writer and her novels are always entertaining and well-written.

Leave a Reply

