The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold: Novel v. Movie

About a year ago I read “The Lovely Bones,” by Alice Sebold. I loved the book. I found it intriguing, suspenseful and beautifully written. Even though it took on a disturbing topic I thought the novel was lovely.

When the movie came out I was excited to see it.  I know the movie is never as good as the book, but I still love to see books come to life on film. I was told by many friends that the movie was a huge dissapointment after having read the book so I wasn’t expecting much. Honestly, I was expecting it to be like “My Sister’s Keeper,” which was nothing at all like the fantastic novel.

However, when I watched the film I was pleasantly surprised. Since the narrator of the novel is a dead girl and most of her narrative takes place in either her heaven or in flashbacks, I wasn’t sure how that would translate into a movie. That being said, I thought they did a great job of following the book. The biggest change they made was switching the order around a little so it made sense. Obviously you can never put all the emotion and characterization of a novel into a movie but I thought this was a valiant effort.  I also liked all the special effects and I thought the actors were spot on. The murderer was so creepy – he played the part perfectly. The film also kept the novel’s ending, which made me happy ( I am forever scarred by the changing of the ending to “My Sister’s Keeper).

Overall, I loved both the book and the movie.

Of course, I am a lover of the written word so I have to plead with you to always read the novel first before watching the movie.

Leave a Reply

