Lady of the Butterflies, by Fiona Mountain

If I had to describe this novel in one word it would be “enchanting.”

“Lady of the Butterflies” is a historical novel set in Somerset during the restoration. The story centers around Eleanor Glanville, the daughter of a strict puritan whose two passions in life end up destroying her; her love of butterflies and her intense love for Richard Glanville. 

Mountain’s writing style reminded me of Phillipa Greggory’s prose. As with Greggory’s books, I found myself consumed with this novel. I couldn’t put it down. When I was apart from it, the story of Eleanor drew me. I couldn’t wait to get back to her.  I read the lengthy novel in a few short days. Once I finished I felt sad, wishing I could spend more time with the characters.

What made the tale even more intriguing was the realization that Eleanor Glanville was indeed a real person. I’m curious to find out more about her. She was a fascinating woman.

Mountain has written a beautiful story, rich with descriptions and emotions and wonderful characters. I recommend this book highly and can’t wait to read her next one.

Leave a Reply

