The Art of Mending, by Elizabeth Berg

I’ve read many of Berg’s novels and for me they’ve ben hit or miss. I found “The Art of Mending” at the fall library sale. Figuring I had nothing to lose, I purchased it. Much to my delight, it was a hit.

“The Art of Mending” is about a family reunion that goes terribly wrong when secrets kept buried for years come to light. I won’t say anymore because the beauty of this novel is that secrets are revealed pieces at a time like peeling back the layers of an onion. The reader doesn’t know the full story until turning the last page. Berg did a wonderful job of keeping me engaged throughout.

Berg’s writing was lovely. She began each chapter by describing a photograph depicting the family. Her descriptions were so vivid I could see the picture, could feel the underlying meaning. Her characters were well defined. I understood their convictions, their needs, their wants. I wasn’t surprised by their actions because I knew them so well. To me that is the key to creating great characters.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book. Until next time, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

