Sing You Home, by Jodi Picoult

Picoult’s latest novel is laced with controversy. I knew this a year ago when I met Jodi at her book reading and signing for “House Rules.”  She explained the premise for her 2011 novel and I’ve been awaiting it’s release ever since. Not only is Picoult an amazing writer but she has an uncanny ability to be completely unbiased in her novels. All of her stories take a moral issue and show every side of it.  Whenever I read her books I’m impressed with how I can empathize with each character, whether it be the victim, the murderer, the cheating spouse, etc. Rarely can I tell Picoult’s moral stance. She is able to create real characters that you can identify with regardless of how different they are from you.

“Sing you Home” deals with a couple, Max and Zoe who have been trying for years to have a baby. Zoe endures many treatments including invitro and yet has many miscarriages and eventually a still birth. After their baby is stillborn Max divorces Zoe and moves in with his super religious brother and sister-in-law. Meanwhile Zoe strikes up a good friendship with a lesbian named Vanessa. Eventually Max becames a born again Christian and Zoe becomes a lesbian and marries Vanessa. Since Vanessa can have children, Zoe remembers that she still has some frozen embryos from her marriage. The problem is that Max won’t consent to giving them to her and a court battle for the embryos ensues.

As with all of Picoult’s novels, the plot was fascinating and I enjoyed the book. However, I was dissapointed with how biased the book was and how poorly Christians were portrayed. I’m a Christian and I’m not a judgmental, narrow minded person. All the Christians in this book were. I know there are Christians like these ones but it isn’t an accurate portrayal of all of us. I was surprised that Jodi can empathize with a murderer and write them with such grace and yet she can’t do the same with Christians.

That being said I think it’s a good lesson for all of us to be more like Jesus. We are not on this earth to judge and throw stones. We are here to show love and grace and mercy. 

Now I’ll get down from my soap box. 

Picoult is an amazing author and overall this was a good read.

Leave a Reply

