Don’t Breathe a Word, by Jennifer McMahon

This is the fourth novel I’ve read by McMahon. I loved her other three so much that I’ve been waiting anxiously for this one to come out. I was not dissapointed. Don’t Breathe a Word is one of those novels that engrosses you to the point that your family eats frozen food, laundry and dishes pile up, the house stays dirty and you don’t sleep until you finish it. It was amazing!

The story is about the mystery surrounding a twelve-year-old girl who goes into the woods in Vermont one night and never comes out. Her brother, Sam, believes she was taken away by the king of the fairies. Now Sam is all grown up and he and his girlfriend, Pheobe, are catupulted back to the past through a series of disturbing events that cause them to question what really happened to his sister.

McMahon sure knows how to scare and surprise me! This novel had me turning the pages so quick I got paper cuts. Every time I thought I had things figured out I’d hit another twist and was sent off reeling in another direction.  I held my breathe right up to the very end. Not only is McMahon’s plot imaginitive but her characters are real and I felt very connected to them. I was actually sad when I read the last line, wishing I still had more to read.

This book is one that will haunt me long after I’ve finished it. I’m already waiting on pins and needles for Jennifer McMahon’s next novel to come out….hurry up!

Leave a Reply

