The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

My book club loves to go the movies together, so in anticpation of “The Help” hitting theatres next month we decided to read the novel. It was delightful. Stockett’s characterization was amazing. She pulled me into the character’s lives, hearts and minds in such a way that I felt a huge connection with them. I loved the way each character had their own way of talking, thinking, acting. If I read dialogue without looking at the tag lines I would still know who was speaking. Each character was distinct and unique. Not to mention that they were either extremely likeable or unlikeable. Which is great because some of them, like Aibileen, Minnie and Skeeter I adored; while others like Miss Hilly I couldn’t stand. But evoking strong emotion in a reader is a sign of a good writer. So well done, Kathryn Stockett.

The storyline was fresh and lively. The topic was important and revealing. Overall, I would recommend this book highly. A very good, fun read that will make you laugh and cry at the same time. You will fall in love with some characters and hate others. But mostly you will learn something and hopefully grow from reading it.

One thought on “The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

  1. Hi Amber,
    I’ve been looking for book blogs and reviewers and came across Amber Loves To Read, then looked at your recent posts and saw Cindy Sample. Cindy and I are members of the same
    Sisters in Crime Chapter and I have a recently-published traditonal mystery, Edited for Death, that’s getting 5-star reader reviews/. I’d love a rev iew and would be delighted to come to your book club to talk about the book, writing, mysteries, other genres or any other topic!
    Loved The Help!

Leave a Reply

