The Clockwork Prince, by Cassandra Clare

I just finished this book last night and the first thing I have to say is: Wow!  I loved everything about this book. This series is now right up there with the Divergent series for me. I absolutely cannot wait for Clockwork Princess to come out. Hurry up, Cassandra Clare!

Okay, now to get serious….

Clockwork Prince is the second book in the Infernal Devices Series. I read Clockwork Angel last week – that book started out kind of slow for me but I had read a lot of good reviews so I pushed through and I’m really glad I did. The book picked up about halfway into it and then I couldn’t put it down. What I realize now about Clare’s writing is that she very carefully unfolds her stories, which is actually a great gift. I can honestly say that I truly feel the characters. I’m invested in them and I understand them – the good and the bad. With Clockwork Prince, it was a much faster read. Probably in part because I was already into the story from the first book. This book had action all the way through and I read through the 500 page book in a mere few days.

Clare’s writing is seamless and the books are easy reads. However, they are full of description and emotion that leaves you breathless. Can I just say that I am completely Team Will! It’s not that I don’t love Jem because I do. How can you not? The guy is amazing and kind and good. But Will and Tessa have a spark and passion that Tessa and Jem do not. I fear that if she ends up with Jem she will only hurt him. It’s clear that Tessa’s feelings for Will are more intense. Also, I do feel that Clare has written Will in a way that I understand and know him much better than I do Jem. Anyway, they are both great guys but come on Tessa, pick Will! Pick Will!

Wanna know why I’m so passionate about this? Pick up the books and see! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

