City of Bones, by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones is the first book in the Mortal Instruments Series. Having just read the first two books in the Infernal Devices series and loving them, I was intersted in reading this series. While there are a lot of similarities in the two series, there are also a lot of differences.

This book centers around Clary Fray, a fifteen year old girl who stumbles upon a murder in a club one night and finds herself sucked into a world of magic. A world that is full of Shadowhunters, demons, werewolves, vampires, etc. There were some references to characters from the Infernal Devices and a scene with Magnus Bane, which I loved. I know this series came out first but I was glad I had read the other one before it because I understood so much of the  Shadowhunters history.

While there is the same formula in this book  as in ID, with the Institute and the love triangle, it was the characters that made it unique. Clary is very different from Tessa, and Simon and Jace are different from Jem and Will. However, I have to say that I love Jace just as much as I love Will and they both have that witty sarcastic thing going on that I find so irresistable in a character.

Clare’s writing is rich and vivid. I can see and feel everything. I read this book very quickly and the suspense kept me on the edge of my seat. It ends with a lot of questions so I can’t wait to dive into the second book! 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

