City of Lost Souls, by Cassandra Clare

This is a hard review to write. On the one hand, I am completely addicted to this series. It is well-written and engaging and keeps me entertained. This book was no exception. On the other hand, I didn’t like the plot for this book.

Let me just start by saying that Cassandra Clare is an amazing author. I believe that her greatest strength as a writer is her ability to give her characters a voice. Every character speaks in a unique way. I know who’s talking without reading the tag line every time. And I love the way she writes witty bad-guys. It’s so endearing and I find myself laughing out loud at many of the things Jace or Magnus says (also Will in the Infernal Devices series).

From the very first book in this series I fell head over heels in love with Jace. Simon is quirky and funny and probably makes a great best friend, but Jace is…well…Jace is Jace. Need I say more?

And that brings me to the issue I had with this book. Jace quite literally wasn’t Jace. And I didn’t like it one bit. Not only did I not like it but I didn’t really buy it. By the fifth book I feel like I know Jace (he is my book boyfriend after all), and even brainwashed I just didn’t think he would behave in the way he did. I really had a hard time with it and I found myself begging the real Jace to come back the whole time.

However, I did read through it rather quickly. It had all the elements I’ve come to love in this series – the suspense, romance, action and it kept me on the edge of my seat. And the ending was satisfying so I was happy with that. I do hope that Jace stays himself for the sixth book though…which I am anxiously awaiting! 4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

