The Selection, by Kiera Cass

Okay, I’m going to admit that the reason I wanted to read this book was because of the fun, whimsical cover. Also, I enjoyed the sound of the premise. But I really thought it would be nothing more than a cutesy romance. I was pleasantly surprised and ended up liking this book a lot more than I expected to.

America Singer (love that name, by the way) lives in a dystopian world where people are numbered by their caste. She is a five, so her family is relatively poor. However, she loves a boy named Aspen who is a six and sixes are even less well off. Her family would never want her to be with a six – that would be marrying down. She gets a letter in the mail that the prince is looking for a wife and invites girls at the age of sixteen to enter the selection where he will choose someone to marry(think the Bachelor). At the urging of her family, and, surprisingly her boyfriend, she enters. She ends up making it and when she arrives at the castle she finds that Prince Maxon isn’t at all what she expected.

I am usually a sucker for forbidden love so I thought for sure that I would be on Team Aspen all the way. However, I found him to be irritating with all his pride issues and everything. Don’t get me wrong, the author wrote him very authentically and I’m sure that is how a boy in his caste would feel.  But Prince Maxon swept me off my feet. He was a great hero and I’m totally rooting for he and America to be together.

I thoroughly enjoyed the world that Cass created and I look forward to reading the next book! I give this book 4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

